Section 2.—Provincial Governments in Relation to Agriculture*

Subsection 1.---Agricultural Services

Newfoundland.—Government agricultural services in Newfoundland are operated by the Agricultural Division of the Department of Mines, Agriculture and Resources. The Division is in charge of a director who is assisted by a staff of 49 officers. For purposes of administration, the province is divided into nine districts. A fieldman with permanent headquarters is located in each district except Labrador, where the officer is resident for the summer only. Officers in charge of different phases of agricultural development visit each district on assignments from the St. John's office.

Departmental policies in support of the agricultural industry include: a bonus of \$125 an acre on land cleared by privately owned equipment; the distribution of ground limestone at a subsidized rate; the payment of bonuses on purebred sires; and financial assistance to agricultural societies, marketing organizations and exhibition committees. An inspection service is provided for poultry products, vegetables and blueberries, production of the latter being encouraged by the burning of suitable berry areas and the improvement of roads and trails leading to them.

Every encouragement is given to the production of livestock. Poultry and beef production have increased with favourable marketing conditions and with departmental assistance and loans under the Provincial Farm Development Loan Act. The Provincial Veterinarian and his staff supervise the health of animals program and the joint federalprovincial project for the eradication of bovine tuberculosis.

The Agricultural Division co-operates with the Department of Education in furthering the 4-H Club movement in the province and accepts responsibility for all projects pertaining to agriculture.

Prince Edward Island.—The activities of the provincial Department of Agriculture are suggested by its staff which includes, in addition to the Minister and Deputy Minister, a dairy superintendent, three check testers, three dairy herd improvement promoters, a director of veterinary services and ten subsidized practising veterinarians, a livestock director, a marketing director, a director of extension, a horticulturist, a soil analysis assistant, a poultry fieldman, an economist, an agronomist, a director of 4-H Clubs, three agricultural representatives, a nursery supervisor, a forester, a farm improvement supervisor, and a director, an assistant director and two extension workers of Women's Institutes.

Nova Scotia.—The Department of Agriculture and Marketing endeavours to "help the people to help themselves" through strengthening member interest in such organizations as the Nova Scotia Federation of Agriculture, the Nova Scotia Fruit Growers' Association, various agricultural co-operative organizations, credit unions and producer and marketing organizations.

New Brunswick.—Provincial government agricultural policy and programs in New Brunswick are directed by the Department of Agriculture. The Department is headed by the Minister of Agriculture who is assisted by the Deputy Minister and the Directors of the following Branches: extension, livestock and dairy, veterinary, poultry, horticulture, field husbandry, potato and plant protection, agricultural engineering, home economics, credit union and co-operative, agricultural education and rural development.

Quebec.—The agricultural policy of Quebec is formed around the premise that the family farm remains the ideal basis of the rural social structure. To serve the interests of agriculture, the provincial government, aided by various co-operative and professional associations, is working toward the improvement of agricultural production and marketing through the provision of farm credit, assistance to the farmer in organizing the collective commercialization of his products, the improvement of education and teaching facilities

^{*} Information supplied by the agricultural authorities of the various provinces.